top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLeia & Levi

Owning a Great Dane



As a first time Great Dane owner, I have learned a lot of things about owning a giant breed. Levi has been SUCH a joy to raise. As you've all probably already read or seen from pictures and videos, he is goofy and silly and just the best. 

Tyler and I knew owning a Great Dane would mean spending a lot of money. Whether on vet bills because they are sensitive giants, or on food bills because they obviously eat a lot, or on toy/furniture bills because they can be destructive. 

Getting Levi was the best decision I've ever made! 


I knew what I wanted from Levi. I wanted a dog I who could sit with me while I watched TV, who would enjoy going on walks with me and who would always prefer cuddling in bed all day. Great Danes are known for being perfect apartment dogs. They do not need as much exercise as most dogs do and a obedient/tired with 2-4 hours of exercise. 

After talking about it, we decided having a dog who needed a smaller amount of exercise would be best for us. Tyler and I both work during the day so planning a good schedule to fit Levi's needs was important for us. I didn't work for the first two months we had Levi. I stayed home to train him and learn his needs and wants. 

At 7 months, Levi requires an hour of exercise in the morning and an hour in the evening to be happy (not become destructive). Levi is kept in the kitchen when we're gone. I leave him with his toys, rawhides and some dental sticks to chew on. I have read post on Facebook about Great Danes needing up to 4 hours so it really depends on the dog. Most people crate their Danes which stops destructive behavior but if you don't want to making sure they're tired will help. 


Things you should know before bringing home a dane:


* Yes, they do eat a lot. There was a time Levi ate almost 12 cups a day. We were told that while growing he'll eat a bunch but will slow down as he grows older. He is almost 8 months old and now eats 6 cups a day. 


* I'm sure everyone knows this but, training is important! Imagine having a 200lbs stubborn monster that you can't stop form dragging out down the street... Great Danes are wildly intelligent but also can be stubborn as hell. Sometimes I ask Levi to sit down and he looks at me with a look I can only imagine means "why should I sit for nothing? give me a treat and I'll think about it."


* Separation anxiety is something you need to be prepared for. Almost everyone with a Great Dane I know has mentioned behavior related to it. 


* It is important to socialize a puppies! Great Dane puppies are so ready make friends and love to play!! Be prepared for more love than you can ever imagine!!!


* It's always great to find friends who know what you're going through. There are a few Great Dane groups on Facebook where you can meet new Great Dane owners and long-timer owners. They are happy to answer any questions you have and will give you advice too if you need it. It's nice to have people who face similar problems! BEWARE: some of them have very strong opinions and won't keep quiet about it.


* You'll never be left alone again~  




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page